Interview with Tim Rowe

ba8c48bfe2636271f9dd56e9b55195bc

Tim Rowe is a passionate London based sound artist who published a number of albums (digital + ltd editions) in the abstract, experimental and minimal ambient music field.

What is your musical background and how did you decide to produce your own materials in the first place?

I started playing music when my mum bought me an old, upright piano. I was sent to piano lessons, but they ended when the teacher learned that I was playing by ear, rather than reading the notes. I wrote songs with a friend in my teens and learned the guitar and we formed a band. I was the lead vocalist in our band as no one else would sing. I briefly had a very bad publishing deal and had two songs published in the UK. I think the royalties amounted to 10 Pence. I got married and had kids and stopped making music for about fifteen years. Around 2012 I considered using my laptop to create music again. Although I have an eclectic taste in music, I had long been a fan of both Ambient and “Looped” music so these were the areas I began to explore creatively. I bought a copy of Ableton Live. For me, using it was really like painting or sketching with sounds & samples.

What is your compositional plan and how would you define your music?

My compositional process is actually very simple: I find a sound that I like – be it a VST preset or a sample that has been tweaked, add some filters and affects, and record. Then I find another sound or sample and do the same, and usually find a way of allowing the output of both tracks to “bleed” into one another harmonically – much in the same way a watercolour painting might do if the paint was very dilute and would spread over the paper into another colour.

What are you currently working on?

Currently I have ditched Windows and OS X in favour of Linux, so most of my music-making tools have changed entirely. I am currently experimenting with new software. I expect this will somewhat influence both the way I compose and the resulting musical output – which I find exciting.

Website: timrowe.org

One Tim Rowe’s soundscape will be included on Triple Moon Records compilation V/A: Acquainted with passing clouds. Soon available @ https://triplemoonrecords.bandcamp.com/

About triplemoonrecords

Alternative & Experimental music net-label. Based in France
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

