Interview wih Bruno Pezer

What is your musical background and how have you decide to produce your own music in first place?

I mainly play guitar and bass (which I took up at 16 and 18 years old, respectively), but enjoy experimenting with any instrument I can get my hands on. I grew up listening to progressive rock, which influenced my creative approach: mixing things up and always looking for new sounds. The artists which have most shaped my tastes include Pink Floyd, Van der Graaf Generator, Boards of Canada, Sleep, Sunn O))), Tom Waits, Mark Lanegan, Earth, Kate Bush, La Monte Young, Terry Riley, Conan, The Mars Volta, Soft Machine, Isis, Adrian Belew, Kyuss, Ruins and Scott Walker (but there are many more of course).

Producing my own music was not so much a decision as a necessity since the scene where I live isn’t particularly fertile. There are few opportunities to perform live, maintaining long-term projects with other people is more difficult than it should be, and studios are expensive, which is why I ended up taking the DIY approach.

What is your compositional plan and how would you define your music?

When I first started working on my own material it felt like I was discovering the music rather than composing it, due to the fact that I’m self-taught and know very little theory. With time and experience I learned to have a clearer vision of what to do before actually doing it, however I still retain an element of my initial approach since I find it easier to come up with something unexpected that way. To sum it up, I search for ideas through improvisation and then slowly work on refining and structuring them.

I’m exploring three musical “areas”: atmosphere, heaviness, and songwriting. The material I’ve written or produced up to this moment ranges from ambient and IDM soundscapes made from digital synths, processed guitars and samples of various nature, to slow and heavy metal riffs, to songs reduced to the bare essence (one or two acoustic guitars and voice

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently finalizing the mix of my debut album of spacey ambient-electronica which will be released under the name Transmissions and simultaneously working on the second one which is a bit more experimental and abstract.

I’m also preparing to record some demos of acoustic material I have been working on since at least 2013 with a close friend of mine.

webpage: https://soundcloud.com/transmissionsfrombeyond/

Bruno Pezer’s new soundscape will be included on Triple Moon Records compilation V/A: Acquainted with passings clouds. Soon available:
About triplemoonrecords

Alternative & Experimental music net-label. Based in France
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

